Bookmark and Share
 
Michele Borba Ed.D and author of "Parenting Solutions: 101 Answers to Your Everyday Challenges and Wildest Worries" wrote an article in Urban Baby and Toddler that I wanted to share with you. She wrote about raising caring kids which I just love because too often I read articles about how to raise smarter faster and stronger kids and I think we as a society are losing track of what parenting is really about. Her article made me think about my own parenting style as well as some of my own childhood experiences that taught me to care.

 A few of Michele's tips that really jumped out were: 

1. Be the change you want to see 
I know this is something we all think about at some point, but what are we really DOING about it. Our kids are little sponges and they learn from our actions as parents-Monkey see Monkey do right? Imagine what they would soak up if we consciously made it a point to help at least 1 person everyday. It could be as simple as opening the door for a struggling mom juggling 2 kids, bringing old toys to a local charity or calling grandma just to say I love you. Ask yourself what you did today that made a positive difference in someone's life and did you share that experience with your kids? I know this works because my 4 year old holds the door open for e-v-e-r-y-o-n-e because he sees us do it and he loves the "thank-yous" he receives from people. I'm going to make this a daily priority and keep track of our "good deeds" and see the positive effect it has on my boys... I hope you do too, and please share some experiences with me!


2. Pause before you praise
This is something I never really paid much attention to, but I am so guilty of over praising! I think it is natural to be very proud of our children and we want to make sure they know how amazing they are, but we can get carried away. If we reward our children for every "please and thank you" or every time they pick up their toys we can create a monster. Michele talks about the fine line between confidence and cockiness and how over praising our children can make them think the world revolves around them. If your child is very impatient or needs to win every race or game, that can be a sign you have a "monster in training" so nip that in the bud ASAP! This is a problem I have right now and I can tell you it is a hard habit to break. I have started pausing and thinking before I praise and I no longer give gifts as rewards, it is hard but I know it will be worth it! 

3. Get your kids to give back
This is my favourite tip from Michele. Pick a charity or organization that would interest your children and get them involved as hands on as possible so they can see the difference they are making. Writing this just brought back a great memory from my childhood. When I was a wee little girl, I had a piggy bank that I would save money for candy or some barbies. One year when I was 9 or 10 my Dad asked me to save up my money until Christmas and give it away. Of course this sounded crazy to me, especially at Christmas, but my dad promised me a reward so I said yes. We all saved money and when December rolled around we picked 3 families in need and put together a basket full of food, some presents and cash then we personally delivered them. I still remember how grateful they were just to see the food. There were tears and smiles and even at my young age I understood we had made a huge difference in their lives, and it felt really good. For my reward I didn't ask for more presents I asked for a bigger piggy bank and we made a new Christmas tradition. 


Most importantly I think we need to relax and realize there is no such thing as a perfect parent or a perfect child and it is our imperfections that make us unique. We aren't raising robots, we're raising little humans!





3/13/2011 12:54:25 pm

So much interesting contents here! You can go to see promotional gifts ,just have a look,right now.

Reply
3/30/2011 06:20:40 pm

Many people like read articles and good articles can attract more people to read and help more pelple. this article belong to good article adapt to any people read. no matter men women or children ,younger of oler .this article is very meanful from every aspect , such article is our like .thanks you give us so good article. We will support always.

Reply
4/19/2011 04:08:20 pm

Thank you so much for this post; it is really helpful…Do you have any newsletter because I want to have a copy of those if there are any…Thank you!

Reply
1/16/2012 10:43:34 am

It was very informative and I also digg the way you write!I love your article, and I am deeply attracted by your idea and sense among your words.Please keep us up to date like this.

Reply
1/16/2012 10:43:50 am

At the network’s I wandered. By chance after your web site, read your post. Very fruitful,thank you for sharing. On the Internet, it is hard to find useful information. Thank you

Reply
1/16/2012 10:44:22 am

Your article is very interesting and humorous. From your article, I can see the true meaning of the word happy. This article, I believe many people are helpful. Very fortunate to share this article to your. Look forward to your updates.

Reply
4/9/2012 05:23:28 pm

Your blog is very beautiful, the style is very cool! See the things that I think is very interested in oh, thank you for sharing! I wish you good luck!

Reply
5/2/2012 06:39:35 pm

i am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the design of your blog.

Reply
5/2/2012 06:40:34 pm

Happy to see your blog,The content of your blog is exactly what I needed

Reply
5/3/2012 06:19:51 pm

Good Luck!It is nice of you to post it.
I love the Planet Hulk storyline. I have nev

Reply
5/3/2012 06:20:40 pm

Nice post. This post is different from what I read on most blog. And it have so many valuable things to learn. Thank you for your sharing.

Reply
5/3/2012 06:21:17 pm

I really like your message and that way i like this post, keep posting more.thank you.

Reply
5/10/2012 12:46:59 pm

I'm very glad to see your blog, I like it very much of this style, appreciate oh!

Reply
5/24/2012 04:30:37 pm

The design principle of dkny bags is to make its products comprehensive, that is, to be used in all occasions. Every dkny bag is a good choice. Styles of bags dkny are very unique. The dkny bags sale is very hot. All dkny handbags designed by donna karan are welcomed. To buy dkny bags online in dkny uk is very easy and convenient.
http://www.dkny-bags.net

Reply
5/24/2012 05:01:22 pm

For girls, monsoon dresses are are colorful dreams. Dresses in monsoon sale are richful in style and color. Girls are deeply attracted by this monsoon dress. Those who have ever bought dresses at monsoon know the advantages of monsoon. All monsoon clothing is elegant and beautiful. The monsoon clothing dresses are famous for their variety, high quality and great beauty. Outstanding monsoon bridal dresses and monsoon wedding dresses win great fame.
http://www.monsoondresses.net

Reply
5/25/2012 12:58:17 pm

Summer is the stage of coast dress. Sisters must have various kinds of problems. The secrets of looking slim in coast dresses is using popular showing slim figure products, like slender waistcoat and traditional waistband of drawing the outline of waistline. Coast clothes are made of cooling materials. In the hot summer, wearing cooling dresses at coast makes you feel cool from the bottom of heart!Summer is your season to wear dresses by coast. Come on, wearing dresses from coast in beaches.Come on, buy coast dresses wedding in our coast stores now!
http://www.coastdress-sale.com

Reply
5/25/2012 06:05:43 pm

<p> This is the good <a href="http://www.barbourshops.com/">barbour</a>. We sale <a href="http://www.barbourshops.com/">barbour jacket</a> of all kinds. The <a href="http://www.barbourshops.com/">barbour international</a> sale hot. And the <a href="http://www.barbourshops.com/">international barbour</a> on sale, too. You can have the<a href="http://www.barbourshops.com/"> barbour ladies</a>, <a href="http://www.barbourshops.com/">quilted barbour</a> and so on to show your style. All the <a href="http://www.barbourshops.com/">barbour on sale</a> are of good quality and style. Among them, the <a href="http://www.barbourshops.com/">barbour quilted</a> and ladies barbour are the best-sellers. Just go and have the barbour international jacket.</p>
http://www.barbourshops.com/

Reply
5/28/2012 02:59:43 pm

All around the world, coast sale is incredibly hot. Every coast dress is very welcomed. What dress coast brings to girls is happiness. Different coast clothing give girls different experiences and feelings. In every district, coast stores are welcomed. Their charm shows. For girls, coast wedding dresses are the guarantee of wonderful wedding. Different from other fashions, coast fashion leads girls to find their own beaty. In the beautiful season, coast maxi dresses are essential clothes.
www.promdress-shop.net

Reply
5/29/2012 10:59:50 am

Welcome to the Our barbour jackets Store, we offer the top quality barbour coats for you choose, such as the barbour quilted jacket,International Barbour and the barbour waxed are so nice and cheap! We try our best to do the barbour stores website to reward customers to our support, we make sure that our barbour womens jacket can get your standard, and the barbour mens jacket, too! And if you want to buy the best and the cheap barbour jackets, please don't consider any, contact us, we will not let you feel disappointed, trust me!

Reply
6/18/2012 04:28:17 pm

Go right ahead and get yourself herve legerherve leger outlet that will make you feel like a champ with the right glow to you. hatsnew era hats are worldwide famous for its quality and amazing stylish designs.

Reply
6/18/2012 04:28:45 pm

herve legerherve leger outlet are certainly going to turn out to be the best buy that you could have ever made. hatscheap new era hats have been put together by the very best of craftsmen all over the country and that makes them desirable to say the least.

Reply
7/4/2012 02:07:35 pm

I was searching for something like that for quite a long time and at last I have found it here. Your blog is better than others because of useful and meaningful posts.

Reply
7/11/2012 05:16:23 pm

took me by the hand, and went with eyes closed and you won't get lost.

Reply
7/17/2012 01:35:48 pm

Thanks for a wonderful release! I really enjoy reading it, you can be a great writer. I will ensure that the collection of your blog, and will eventually be from now on. I want to encourage you to continue the great work, have a good weekend!

Reply

I was just looking for this article,wish you can write more blog later.thank you.

Reply
7/25/2012 07:32:47 pm

I am glad to visiting your site,more nice article,thank you for your information.

Reply
7/25/2012 07:33:04 pm

I think it's absolutely fantastic,best blog,best article,I might be coming back to your blog for more soon.

Reply
7/27/2012 06:39:28 pm

Hello friend, just wanted to tell you that your blog is very good, the images they use are nice and very well explained information, your blog is different, thanks for all, greetings!

Reply
7/1/2013 12:03:42 pm

Wholesale sexy lingerie and sexy costumes from Wonder Beauty help you achieve the sexy hot look ever.Excellent, high quality and cheap product is worth your attention. Have a try!You can't find a better choice.

Reply



Leave a Reply.